Southwest Florida Healthcare Coalition


Helpful information and links to important resources both locally and nationally.

  • Filter Categories

  • Filter Topics

Found 23 Results

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States (the 9/11 Commission), recognized NFPA 1600 as our National Preparedness Standard®. Widely used by public, not-for-profit, nongovernmental, and private entities on a local, regional, national, international and global basis, NFPA 1600 has been adopted by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security as a voluntary consensus standard for emergency preparedness.

NFPA 1600® Standard on Continuity, Emergency, and Crisis Management

CodeFinder® Tool

Administration for Strategic  Preparedness and Response (ASPR)

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Administration for Strategic  Preparedness and Response (ASPR) leads the country in preparing for, responding to, and recovering from the adverse health effects of emergencies and disasters. This is accomplished by supporting the nation’s ability to withstand adversity, strengthening health and emergency response systems, and enhancing national health security. ASPR’s Hospital Preparedness Program (HPP) enables the health care delivery system to save lives during emergencies and disaster events that exceed the day-to-day capacity and capability of existing health and emergency response systems. HPP is the only source of federal funding for health care delivery system readiness, intended to improve patient outcomes, minimize the need for federal and supplemental state resources during emergencies, and enable rapid recovery. HPP prepares the health care delivery system to save lives through the development of health care coalitions (HCCs) that incentivize diverse and often competitive health care organizations with differing priorities and objectives to work together. ASPR developed the 2017-2022 Health Care Preparedness and Response Capabilities guidance to describe what the health care delivery system, including HCCs, hospitals, and emergency medical services (EMS), have to do to effectively prepare for and respond to emergencies that impact the public’s health. Each jurisdiction, including emergency management organizations and public health agencies, provides key support to the health care delivery system.

2017-2022 Health Care Preparedness and Response Capabilities

NIMS Implementation for Healthcare Organizations Guidance

American Hospital Association (AHA)

The American Hospital Association is a health care industry trade group. It includes nearly 5,000 hospitals and health care providers. The organization, which was founded in Cleveland, Ohio in 1898, with offices in Chicago, Illinois and Washington, D.C. is currently headquartered in Chicago.

American Hospital Association (AHA)


Fast Facts on U.S. Hospitals, 2022

2023 AHA Health Care Workforce Scan

Hospitals and Systems

AHA Resource Center

National Disaster Medical System (NDMS)

The National Disaster Medical System (NDMS) is a federally coordinated healthcare system and partnership of the United States Departments of Health and Human Services (HHS), Homeland Security (DHS), Defense (DOD), and Veterans Affairs (VA). The purpose of the NDMS is to support State, local, Tribal and Territorial authorities following disasters and emergencies by supplementing health and medical systems and response capabilities. NDMS would also support the military and the Department of Veterans Affairs health care   systems in caring for combat casualties, should requirements exceed their capacity.


Emergency Support Functions

Joint Commission

The Joint Commission is a United States-based nonprofit tax-exempt 501 organization that accredits more than 22,000 US health care organizations and programs. The international branch accredits medical services from around the world.

The Joint Commission

U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the hard work of more than 260,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Our duties are wide-ranging, and our goal is clear – keeping America safe.

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

The Health Resources and Services Administration is an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services located in North Bethesda, Maryland. It is the primary federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Health Resources & Services Administration

Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC)

American National Red Cross



The American Red Cross, also known as the American National Red Cross, is a non-profit humanitarian organization that provides emergency assistance, disaster relief, and disaster preparedness education in the United States.

American National Red Cross


Page 2 of 3